Question: Does Archive Mean Delete?

Does deleting emails free up space?

Anything that the Cloud sees as being “deleted”, either on your computer or directly in the Cloud, is moved to this Drive Trash Bin but not permanently deleted.

Until it’s permanently deleted it still counts to your total storage usage..

Do archived emails get deleted?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

How do I change from archive to delete in Apple Mail?

Delete multiple email messagesOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.

Where do archived emails go?

The Android version of the Gmail app gives you two options for finding and viewing archived Gmail emails….Option 2:Tap the hamburger menu in the top left corner.Select the All Mail label.Go through all email messages with the All Mail label and look for archived emails.

What is the difference between archive and delete Whatsapp?

Deleting is getting rid of all of them permanently. As in adios forever, and don’t expect to ever see them come back. Archiving on the other hand is simply filing them away in another area of the app. You are not deleting them – you are simply moving them for the sake of tidiness.

Where are archive files stored?

I can’t find my . The archive file is a special type of data file, a Personal Folders file (. pst). The first time AutoArchive runs, Outlook creates the archive file automatically in the following locations: Windows 7, 8, 10, and Vista C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook\Archive.

Does archive WhatsApp delete?

WhatsApp provides you an option to hide your chat without deleting it. The feature is called Archive chats. Once you archive a chat, it hides from the main view. This means you can hide a conversation from your WhatsApp Chat screen and access it later if needed.

Why does my email archive instead of delete?

What happens when I archive or delete a message? Archive removes the message from your Inbox but keeps it in your account so that you can find it later. Delete moves the message to the Trash where it will be permanently deleted from your account after 30 days.

Does Archive mean save?

I do want to make you aware, however, of what archivists mean when they say the word “archive.” In today’s world of Gmail and online “Archive” buttons, it’s understandable to think that “archive” means “to save something for later, even if it’s just a short amount of time.” My job is “to identify, preserve and make …

Why does iPhone archive email instead of delete?

To set up your email you would go to Settings, then tap on Mail, Contacts & Calendars, and then press Add Account. By default in iOS, Gmail is set to archive your emails as opposed to deleting them. Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash.

What is the purpose of archiving?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

Does archiving delete save data?

Archiving a game will delete all of the game data (which takes up the bulk of the space on your console) but leave your game saves where they are. That way, if you download the game again in the future, you don’t have to start over.

What happens to emails when you archive them?

If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it. When you mute a message: Any replies stay out of your inbox.

How do I change Archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

How long do emails stay in archive?

Note, though, that even after an email is deleted “forever,” either by you or automatically by Gmail from your spam or trash folders, the messages could remain on Google’s servers for up to 60 days.

How do you change from archive to delete on iPhone?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.

Does archiving emails save space?

Archiving emails merely removes your emails from the email listing but saves it in the same folder. Archived emails still occupy the same space that they took up earlier. To clear space, you must delete emails instead of archiving them. Learn more.

How do I clean up thousands of emails?

Check the open square at the top left of the screen and then click “Select all conversations that match this search.” This will select every single email in your inbox like the one you first chose. Click on the trash icon and delete the emails. Do this for every type of repeat email you want to delete.